Thursday, May 12, 2016

Lies I Live By by Lauren Sabel - Book Tour and Giveaway



About the Book

These are the facts: My name is Callie Sinclair. I am seventeen years old. I live in San Francisco. I love my boyfriend, Charlie. I work for a secret governmental agency. I am a psychic spy. This romantic, action-packed twist on the classic spy novel is perfect for fans of Ally Carter’s Embassy Row series or for any reader who enjoys cinematic writing and stories of romance and intrigue.

At seventeen, Callie is the government’s youngest psychic spy, trained to track dangerous people and weapons in her visions. When another young—and handsome and witty—psychic joins the agency, Callie’s personal and professional lives get messy all at once. If she can’t find a way to change the events she’s seen in her visions, she could lose the people she loves most . . . and her mind. Literally.

Richly painted against the backdrop of San Francisco and Berkeley, Lauren Sabel’s enthralling novel captures the thrill of exploring a unique power in a dangerous world.


Purchase

Excerpt

When I focused on a metal light switch across the room, I felt this intense confidence, this feeling that my life was mine alone, and that I could go anywhere and do anything with it. As this feeling surged through me, I felt heat sliding down my arm into my fingertips.  

“Test your power,” Indigo said.
It was like the word “power” flipped some switch inside me. I lost focus, and my gaze slid a few inches over, to a small metal box. 

The fire alarm went off. 
Everyone screamed and ran for the exits, grabbing their kids along the way. Across the room, I saw Charlie and mom headed towards me, and when I looked over, Indigo was no longer by my side. As the sprinklers turned on, and ice-cold drops of water pelted my skin, I closed my fist, and where the spoon had been, there was now a card with a phone number on it. Right then, I knew that everything had changed.  
I would never be normal again.

Guest Post

What is your writing process?


Myth: I wake up feeling inspired every day, with a sentence rolling off the tip of my tongue.

Fact: Sometimes it happens, but it’s rare. Usually, by the time I stumble into my office with a coffee in my hand, I’ve decided two things: 1. Which project I am going to work on 2. Why I absolutely can’t give up in the first half-hour.  On good writing days, I’ve also decided which scene I am going to drop into, and I’ve thought about what that scene will look like or feel like on my way to work. On those days, writing feels like flying rather than falling.

Myth: I get my most of my inspiration from reading other YA books.

Fact: I LOVE reading YA books! And I do get a lot of inspiration from reading novels. However, if I’m reading about a plot or character in a published book, it means its already been done. Most of my inspiration actually comes from completely random places, like science or history museums, talk radio I tune into for 30 second increments while driving, or conversations that start with, “You wouldn’t believe this, but I swear it’s true…”

Myth: I spend all of my time talking about writing.

Fact: I spend all of my time daydreaming about writing. Since I have a close family and friend group who are not writers, I try not to bore them by talking about my career all the time. But they can’t blame me if my mind wanders to my characters and plotlines – day and night!

Myth: I outline every scene before I write it.

Fact: Usually I have no idea what’s going to happen in any scene before I write it. I often don’t know who will be in it, where it will take place, or how it will end up. Not the most time-effective way to write, but for me, the most fun.

Myth: I was always motivated to be a writer.

Fact: I always wanted to be a writer. Being motivated to sit down and write every day, even when the plot isn’t working or I don’t understand my characters, is a totally different thing. It’s like kicking the sludge out of the way before ever taking the first step in the right direction. Those are the times I repeat these words to myself: “Discipline is success.” That mantra reminds me that the act of discipline itself is what makes a person successful, not the end result, which is unpredictable and often messy.

Thanks...


About the Author

Lauren Sabel lives in the quirky dark spaces of her mind, and she tries to shed light on these spaces in her books. After publishing VIVIAN DIVINE IS DEAD in Summer 2014 with Katherine Tegen Books, an imprint of Harper Collins, she confronted her lifelong fear of being psychic by writing LIES I LIVE BY (pub May 2016). Since in this YA thriller, teenage psychic spy Callie Sinclair works undercover for the government, forced to hide her real identity from everyone she loves, Lauren is now certain she’s on the CIA watch list.





Author Links:
   

Giveaway
Lauren will be awarding $50 Amazon or B/N GC to a randomly drawn winner via rafflecopter during the tour.

a Rafflecopter giveaway